‘Ubiquitous” Newest Painting- Part of Zodiac Art Show-Taurus- 2015 Calendars Available

TAURUS-Jacklyn-Hancock

Hello my friends πŸ™‚

I haven’t posted in a while because I am too busy enjoying summer!!!! (and working) ahahahah. Hope you all have been well.

This is my newest painting I completed for a group show I was invited to participate in called the Zodiac Art Show. It featured 12 GTA artists’ interpretations of the 12 different zodiac signs; Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

I was assigned Taurus and I was happy with their choice because I instantly thought of some intense compositions I could do featuring a bull but to honest I don’t know much about any of the signs in particular and so I would have been happy with any of them.

This painting is 30 x 40 inches, mixed media on canvas, for sale, titled “Ubiquitous”. Largest painting I have ever done! Speant around 65 hours on it I think. Crazy. What do you guys think? We also had 2015 calendars printed of all 12 paintings/ signs/ months and they are for sale for 20 bucks each or you can buy a mass quantity. Great for practical use, and as gifts πŸ™‚

Within this composition, I intentionally rendered the bull in expressionistic brushstrokes, portraying the unpredictability of the stubborn animal and I painted the woman in light of her sensuality and materialism. I believe many opposing sides of Taurus are intertwined by connections to the pleasures of Earth.

I did a bunch of visual and written research on what Taurus embodies.

Summary: “Think physical pleasures and material goods, for those born under this sign revel in delicious excess. They are also a tactile lot, enjoying a tender, even sensual, touch. Along these lines, they also favor a good meal and a fine wine. Nevertheless they also simply want to get things done, and it’s that steady, dogged persistence that winds up being viewed as stubbornness. Taurus is ruled by Venus, a lovely goddess who didn’t deny herself many things”

– Stubborn
– Lazy
– Possessive
– Materialistic
– Self-indulging
– Forceful
– Dependable
– Persistent
– Loyal
– Patient
– Generous

Leave a Reply

