My Precious Horses, I Must Give Them Up :(

Hey Friends!

I have not posted in a while because my computer had beer spilled on it so I had to leave it turned off to dry out for a week. NOT HAPPY.

I have also been VERY busy with work (slowly driving me insane), moving out of my student house, and now my parents have told me I have to sell my horses because we cant afford them anymore. (the most depressing thing I ever heard)

I have been in denial about this for a LONG time already and now that I am graduated my mom says theres no more time to wait. So as of this week I am officially going to start asking around, posting pictures and blurbs about them on Facebook, ad sites, etc. My horse friends have informed me that NOONE is looking to buy horses right now, the economy is poor and more and more horses are being neglected, sent to slaughter or being euthanized. This is upsetting me very much, and making it feel like it will be impossible to find my babies a good home. We adopted the large horses 10 years ago, and we adopted the mini pony 5 years ago isn. All 3 were previously neglected and abused. I have retrained them and turned them into trusting, loving pets.

I had fun the other day going to groom them all and having a photo shoot day with them. Unfortunately it has been VERY hot here in Ontario, reaching an average of 40 + degrees here and very humid so I have not been able to ride them for a while.

Enjoy the fun photos I snapped of my beautiful, beloved creatures. Please let me know if you have any tips or advice for finding a good home for these loving horses.

Hope everyone has had an amazing couple weeks. Stay creative and motivated!
-JH

19 thoughts on “My Precious Horses, I Must Give Them Up :(

  1. I had to give up our two horse for economic reason in 2008. It was heartbreaking and I still feel guilt to this day. We found homes for both of them as therapy horses at a small local organization. They helped a lot of children and young adults with emotional and physical traumas and for that reason I can be proud of our ‘kids’. Unfortunately, being a small, underfunded charity, then didn’t receive proper care. I so hope you’re able to find good homes for your beautiful horses. They hold our hearts and letting go of that part of ourselves is never easy. Good luck and bless you.

  2. Oh, I am so sorry you have to give up your horses. That are so beautiful. Never owned a horse but love them and find it bliss letting them. My brother worked with horses and my father expressed his love of them through horse racing which I now find cruel. At leoast you had the experience of owning them.

    • They are the most sensitive and caring creatures. So beautiful and fragile. I agree I think horse racing is cruel, among many other practices unfortunately. I am completely broken up about having to give them up, but will not settle for anything less then a supreme home that lets me keep track of their well being. I simply could not live knowing these amazing creatures werent being treated well. Thanks for your comment, take care!
      -JH

  3. They are such beautiful horses – I am sorry to hear that you must give them up. Hopefully you will be able to find homes for them where you can visit them, and where you will not have to worry about them.

  4. That is depressing news but understandable! The ‘economy’ has caused many farms to downsize, whether beloved horses, sheep or goats! I’m sure you’ll do what’s best for your lovely horses. Have you put an add in the paper/craiglist or other horse publication? Contact a youth organization or youth camp, 4-H, rehab center? Even if you had to donate your horses, it’s better than slaughter??? Good luck!

  5. I really am so sorry to hear that…Horses are very special animals, I had several years ago and I finally had to give them up.. I feel so bad for you..maybe someday you will get others you never forget these guys
    take care JH..
    sherri

    • Thank you so much for the kind words and understanding. I just want the best for them that is all that matters.<3 MAYBE one day I will be lucky enough to have horses again and I will appreciate them just as much!
      Hope you are well!
      -JH

  6. Sorry that you have to give up your horses. If you have equine rescue organizations in your area, that’s a possibility for a starting point.

  7. Horses are so expensive to keep here in the UK and I imagine it’s the same over there in Canada. It will be very hard for you to let go I’m sure. Sorry you’re having to deal with this. šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

