New Screenprint Sculpture is COMPLETE :D

The Completed Cube

The Completed Cube


MECHANIC VS ORGANIC

Hey Everyone! So this is a printmaking installation I have been working on for a few weeks. The theme is mechanic vs organic. I used screen to print my mechanical animal illustrations onto recycled wood. Then I took photos of fractal patterns found in nature and used screen to print them onto recycled wood aswell. I used black and white water based ink and then combined my favourite ones into a 6 sided cube sculpture. I am happy with the results. And I had some time to do some experimenting with the printing patterns on decorative paper, spare wood and using different ink colours. Let me know what you think πŸ˜€

11 thoughts on “New Screenprint Sculpture is COMPLETE :D

  1. I love the contrasts you have between the organic and mechanic, looking stylish as well as conceptual. Even the box itself is organic in material but mechanical in design. Can I ask, how did you screen print the images? Did you use the photo emulsion method or did you cut a stencil or another way perhaps?

    • All of the comments you made are bang on to the theme and concept I was portraying. Makes me happy to know the idea is coming across well. I appreciate what you have to say. I always coat my screen in emulsion.Then, to expose images onto the screen I create illustrations on mylar sheets with black prisma colour pencil. If I have digital images to expose I print the image in halftone bitmap black and white using an inkjet lazer printer then I oil the page with vegetable oil and expose onto screen. This sounds complicated now that I have written it out, but the processes are quite simple once you grasp the concept.
      -JH

      • Thanks for the info, I love screen printing too and I’m just learning about all the different methods. I hope to see some more of your prints!

    • Hey there,
      I have been fortunate to have access to Sheridan College’s Printmaking Studios but I will be creating my own screen print station from my home as soon as I save a bit more money. Unfortunately printmaking often requires you to have access to expensive presses, inks, chemicals and materials but Silk Screen printing is the easiest and cheapest form to do yourself. Its a challenging art form sometimes, but once you get the hang of it, its addictive. Thanks so much for your comment. Keep posted for more updates and progress πŸ˜€
      -JH

  2. Jacklyn, thank you for liking my blog post. I’m so glad you did because that allowed me to find you and your work. I LOVE the free and experimental nature of your art. I will watch your progression with delight!
    Thanks again,
    Marsha

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I am glad you enjoy the experimental nature of my art. Alot of what I do is research, experimenting and series work. My true passion is painting, but I have a need to CREATE/ EXPLORE ANYTHING. Definitly keep posted for progress and updates πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoy my work. Thanks again
      -JH

Leave a Reply

